Meetings of the Aggregate Architectural History Collaborative: Brooklyn, 2011; Los Angeles, 2012; Oberlin, 2008

The Aggregate Architectural History Collaborative is dedicated to advancing research and education in the history and theory of architecture. We generate, work-shop, present, and publish innovative scholarship from multidisciplinary perspectives. We are particularly interested in work that foregrounds the multiple ways in which one can understand architecture’s relationship to the world.

Since 2006 the group has held annual or semi-annual workshops and symposia. In 2012, our collected volume Governing by Design: Architecture, Economy, and Politics in the Twentieth Century was published by the University of Pittsburgh Press. We incorporated in 2012 and are a registered 501(c)3 nonprofit organization in New York State.

We “aggregate” with collaborators, reviewers, and other interlocutors to prepare books, conferences, and edited journal volumes.

Board of Directors

Daniel M. Abramson (Boston University), Treasurer
Zeynep Çelik Alexander (University of Toronto)
Lucia Allais (Princeton University)
Arindam Dutta (MIT)
Edward Eigen (Harvard University)
John Harwood (University of Toronto)
Timothy Hyde (MIT)
Pamela Karimi (The University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth)
Jonathan Massey (University of Michigan)
M. Ijlal Muzaffar (RISD)
Michael Osman (UCLA), Chair
Meredith TenHoor (Pratt Institute), Editor


Anthony Acciavatti, Daniel Barber, Cammy Brothers, Ana María León Crespo, Justin Fowler, Orit Halpern, Matthew C. Hunter, Ateya Khorakiwala, John J. May, Ayala Levin, Fabiola López-Durán, Nikki Moore, Albert Narath, Ginger Nolan, Mark Rakatansky, Lukasz Stanek, Anna Vallye


Adrienne Brown, Julia Christensen, Joseph Clarke, Pawan Dhingra, Sebastiaan Faber, Antonio Furgiuele, Rania Ghosn, Brian Goldstein, Sharon Haar, Frances Hasso, Alison Isenberg, Sean Keller, Matthew Lasner, Jesse LeCavalier, Sarah Lynn Lopez, Reinhold Martin, Daniel B. Monk, Michelle Murphy, Todd Palmer, Emmanuel Pratt, Elihu Rubin, Michelangelo Sabatino, Aaron Shkuda, Sara Stevens, Jordan Suter, Amy Thomas, Katherine Thomson-Jones, Cary Wolfe, Claire Zimmerman

Managing Editor

Elliott Sturtevant

Copy Editing

Linda Walsh

Special Thanks

Dianne Harris, Krister Holmes, Peter Kracht, Jacob Moore, Jonathan D. Solomon, Gwendolyn Wright

Get Involved Support Aggregate


The Graduate School of Design, Harvard University

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada

John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design, University of Toronto

The Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts

The University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth